Original Work: Rondeau in d

[drumroll] I present to you my first ever composition!

ssRondeau_0001

Well, to be exact, my first ever completed composition. Having played classical piano for years, it’s not unusual to have unheard tunes floating around in my head from time to time. But the difficult part was catching them and writing them down coherently – once I made up my mind to. To be honest, at the height of making HtYTD arrangements I really thought I’d be no more than an arranger for the rest of my life, but the ensuing inactivity compelled me to venture into the unknown.

The original idea was to write a waltz, but truth be told, I got distracted halfway and slapped in an incongruent 4/4 bit; hence the subtitle “two anachronistic dances”. With limited knowledge in developing themes and transitioning between harmonies, I stuck with the repetition-friendly format of the rondo. One step at a time, eh?

Enough ranting, I’ll let the music speak for itself. A high-quality MIDI (with all tempo and dynamic changes) recording is available via YouTube (above). If you’re into Musescore, I also started an account recently just for fun; you can find this piece over there as well, though not all the engraving elements could be converted. As popular as it is, Musescore does have some limitations relative to Sibelius, which remains my software of choice. For optimal viewing results, I’d recommend the published PDF version (link accessible via thumbnail above). The version on Musescore is for education purposes only.

Creating original compositions is something totally new, both for myself and for this blog. To accommodate this, the site might undergo some make-over in the next little while. In the mean time, don’t hesitate to let me know what you think!

3 thoughts on “Original Work: Rondeau in d

  1. Alex, How wonderful. Congratulations. The first of many I’m sure. I can hardly wait to dig into your Rondeau in d. If you don’t mind I would like to forward a copy to my good friend Carl Cranmer. Carl is a professor of music at West Chester University. Graduate of Oberlin and Juilliard and a concert pianist. I’m sure he would love your work. Again, Congratulations. Best Regards, Wayne Ligato

    • Thanks, Wayne! Great to hear from you, especially since I’ve been inactive for ages. It’d be a real honour to hear your friend’s thoughts, though as my first original work, it feels a bit crude to me. Still, this was written a while ago; better things are definitely on their way.

Leave a Reply

