“Before My Time” from Chasing Ice

Before My Time_PnV_0001While I’m working to sort through all HtTYD material before the sequel comes, here is a soothing piece from the award-winning climate change documentary Chasing Ice. While a poignant proof of how fast glaciers are vanishing before our eyes, the film is also a splendid work of arctic photography. Nominated for Academy Award for Best Original Song this year, the song features Scarlett Johansson and Joshua Bell.

In this arrangement, the violin part is fused into the piano accompaniment. Something about the plain, crisp opening chords captivates me. In my own poetic whim, I came to think of them as echoes of the dying towers of ice.

Purchase link accessible via the thumbnail.

More updates to come regarding HtTYD.

4 thoughts on ““Before My Time” from Chasing Ice

  1. Awesome piece. Is it possible for a little simpler arrangement/version I.e.easy piano. I am still learning bass clef.

    Chords would be good too 😉

    Hauntingly beautiful.

  2. Hello, i was curious if by chance, you have the whole song in sheet music to Before My Time!? My friend wants to sing the song but needed the notes and all we can find, is cord sheets!
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

