“Still Dream” & Official Publishing

Surprise! Here’s the most wanted arrangement of the whole RotG soundtrack. Many of you probably guessed at this already. I love the song just as much as all RotG fans and couldn’t stand not having it arranged. Sorry to all who e-mailed me with the request for this song – I’ve been keeping it a secret since Christmas!

The second big, BIG news: this is soon to be legally published! After months of searching, I’ve finally found a website that allows me to publish arrangements and earn profit in accordance with industry laws and policies. Right now the score is still awaiting review and approval, but it will likely be marked for sale at $1-2 USD. All the information will be provided here when everything is good to go.

If you’re already getting disappointed that this sheet music won’t be uploaded for free, I urge you to read on.

Some of you probably know that I’ve been working to get myself published for a while now. When this site first started with the HtTYD project, my only goal was to share the brilliant music with everyone. Thanks to the unfailing support from all of you over the years, I discovered that I actually have the ability to produce decent-quality arrangements.

Personally, I believe that all arrangers have the right to freely distribute sheet music. But, after dealing with various parties, I want to bring to people’s attention how difficult it is for amateur arrangers like us to find desirable legal publishing outlets.ย Due to discouraging practices by big sheet music companies, so many arrangers resort to uploading arrangements for free that it’s almost considered the norm. Even though this is great for music lovers like you, we all suffer to some degree by not being able to earn money for our hard work: countless hours spent at the piano and the computer just to produce a neat, smooth arrangement that you can play to your enjoyment. By publishing a score that is in relatively high-demand instead of offering it for free, I hope that more people will learn about our struggle and support us to change things for the better.

Of course, I can’t convince you to pay for my work (though a price of $1-2 USD seems a fairly good incentive). But speaking as an arranger, I ask you to please let me do this right for once.

Alex

9 thoughts on ““Still Dream” & Official Publishing

  1. I think this is a good decision. I love free music, of course (who doesn’t?), but you should be able to profit from the work you’ve put into this. One thing, though: does this mean you’ll be able to publish HtTYD, or does MusicNotes have permanent dibs on that? I’d love to be able to get the full sheet for “Coming Back Around,” even if I have to pay for it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • You’re right, Knutt. The site I’m working with is also a great solution for my unpublished HtTYD scores. It might take a month or two before everything gets approved, but they will be up for sale. I’ll make further updates when that’s underway. Thanks for the support!

  2. Wow, this is amazing ๐Ÿ™‚ I love all of your scores, especially for Rise of the Guardians.
    Thank you for arranging and share the scores for all of us. You don’t know how happy I was when I saw that there’s someone share the sheet music (I don’t have an ability to do it myself, and there’s no any company considering to do this movie’s soundtrack sheet music). You are the only pianist in the world who wrote the scores of rise of the guardians soundtracks and you done it so perfectly and beautifully. Your works, not only the guardians’s, are really ,really the best scores I have own, even better than all of the score books that sell in the market or internet.
    I still learning to play your scores, both HTTYD and RotG. I wish that I could be a talented pianist like you someday.
    Good luck with the official publishing! I know It was not easy at all to arranging any music.
    However, I am sorry that I can’t help you anything in this because I don’t have a credit card that can purchases internationally. And the country that I live in is very far from yours. 1-2 or even 5 dollars is not any trouble. I am willing, and love to buy this beautiful, well made sheet music. Especially my favorite song all time “Still Dreams”, worth even ten dollars.
    I’m not lying that I feel very sad, that I won’t have an opportunity to play this song. But your decision is right! and always right. You deserve all supports and earn some benefit from your hard works.
    Thank you very much, and Good luck!

  3. hello! I am loving your arrangements!!!! Your whole site is fantastic! I am a huge fan of DreamWorks, and this makes my love for it grow even more! ๐Ÿ˜€ I am inspired by your work as well, because I’m a music major in college. I want to teach, but I aspire to arrange a musical (based off of Swan Lake/the animated movie Swan Princess)…do you have any advice? ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I have been eagerly anticipating getting the sheet music for “Still Dream.” I will happily pay for your arrangement. How soon will it be available?

    • The link will be up before the end of the week with the instructions. I’m still working on a few last minute things. Thanks for your patience and support!

  5. I just have to say, sure I know that you should be able to profit from your works. I am not here to troll you or anything but the fact is that there are many people who are not able to pay for the music. I’m speaking as a 16 year old girl that really loves piano. I adore your arrangements, and I do wish I could play them but it is a fact of both legal issues (I am not old enough for a credit card) and a money issue (broke). It just doesn’t seem very fair. I mean you could encourage donations and use ads as a way of profit, I’ve seen many others do the same. Sorry about the rant, its just something i feel strongly about, especially because I really wanted to play your compilation piece of all the DreamWorks animated film thing.

    • I understand your situation, Rogue Storm. I’ve received many similar messages from young followers since scores were put up for sale, but you’ve given me an opportunity to express my standpoint publicly for once.
      I see that you would prefer that all scores are free, while income is maintained by alternative means. Allow me clarify: scores are designated for sale not because I’m short of cash; I do so to honour the universal system whereby original composers are paid for their work. That is why I will not adhere to a setup that excludes maestros like John Powell and Alexandre Desplat from receiving royalty, for they have done a lot more than I and none of this would exist without their work in the first place. Nevertheless, most of my arrangements remain publicly available and the non-free scores were in fact made more technically challenging so to reduce potential buyers. In short: I’m not in this for the money.
      Ideally, I always hoped to publish in print and people can simply purchase in stores with cash. But again, that is hampered by the state of monopoly by the big score publishers. And here we are.
      By the way, people do come to me with donations.

Leave a Reply

