Where It All Started…

Today marks the one year anniversary of the project. I’m sad to say that I don’t have a new score prepared for the occasion. The last few months have been a hassle with other tasks on my priority list and the project was neither here nor there. Nevertheless, here’s something I managed to dig up from the archives.

This is a screenshot of my very first attempt at creating piano score for the How to Train Your Dragon soundtrack, dating from May 2010. It was only a primitive effort, before I really learned the ins and outs of Sibelius. I soon abandoned the idea, partly because it seemed too daunting at the time, and partly because I held Powell’s soundtrack in such high regard that I thought any solo arrangement would “flatten” the music. It wasn’t until almost a year later that I gathered enough ambition to take on the challenge. At the time, I was playing several piano arrangements of orchestral music (Scheherazade, Dvorak’s 9th, etc.) and it helped me change my mind about the instrument’s capabilities.

It’s been a long, long way since then, and I’m glad that this project has taken me to where I am now. At times, I was worried that I’d be listening to the soundtrack so often that I’d get sick of it, but that never happened. Rather, knowing every track to the tiniest details just makes me appreciate Powell’s genius even more. Plus, the joy I get whenever I try out a new score or read a new comment from another music lover helps me go on with the project. With eight tracks left, I know not yet when exactly I’ll reach the end, but I’m sure it’ll be just as phenomenal an experience as it has always been.

Anyway, thanks for bearing with me through these rather unproductive months. I’ll be back full force on the project once I’ve got my ends sorted out.

Till then,
Alex

One thought on “Where It All Started…

Leave a Reply

